top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKevin Ryan

Post-Holiday Blog

Hello


And we are back from Las Vegas My God it was warm. And yet no sunburn, or tan. All in all it was a nice trip and nice to go on holidays, it's been a while. This is the second time I've been to U.S (first time was L.A) and I really enjoyed it. I know I just went to a real touristy part of the country but I've had great fun talking to new people. I've come back home with a renewed desire to travel over to Austin Film Festival which will run from 27th October - 3rd November. Even if I can get over for a weekend or 4 or 5 days that'd be great. I would probably have to fly into San Francisco and then onto Austin but I wouldn't mind that. As luck would have it I have a nice contact in San Francisco with someone me and Celine were chatting to in Vegas. Seemed nice. Even if I didn't meet up with them, I would probably be taking Alaska Airlines from San Francisco to Austin and on our way from Vegas to L.A, we met the most pleasantly over the top friendly weird air steward, who insisted on giving us his number and asking us to get in touch with him when we return to the U.S. Where does he live in the U.S? We have no idea, he ran down the aisle to get everyone free cookies, but he was so fascinatingly hyper-friendly I probably would say hello to him just for the craic.


Also, just a brief mention, Alaska Airlines is fantastic. I really should give them a nice review. Their staff were all super helpful and went out of their way to direct us through LAX to get to our gate in the easiest, shortest time. Good on them.


Now for the blog stuff:


First off, the 55Genres has continued. I wrote a ghost short the day after I returned to Ireland. I wrote a musical ghost story called "Séance to the dance". Featuring a song called "Jump Cut" which would probably sound similar to Kriss Kross - Jump. The song, Jump Cut, being all about the wonderful film technique that horror films often employ. I think writing a musical would be fun, even if I am completely tone deaf. A haunted house musical maybe? Could I stretch that into a feature? Hmmm...add that to my internal list of potential features to write.


My next short genre is a monster movie. It's something I'm looking forward to as I love the task of creating a monster for this short. I do hate the fact I need to keep it low budget. I consider it very much like the very first short, which was a Disaster movie, in how constrained I am in keeping it low budget. I would love a monster that is huge. Godzilla, a T-Rex, something like that. So that will be interesting to figure out. I have until 12th June to complete this.


In other news, I hope to begin releasing my second season of Tyrants In Training. I have the next two days off from my day job so hopefully I can get editing and preparing for Wednesday releases. I also need to get back to my script reading work. Script reader? Script analyst? I don't know which term to use to describe myself? Hey I get paid for it now so I should use a term.


Finally, I am considering turning these weekly blogs into monthly blogs. I feel longer blogs about a topic might be nicer than slapped together weekly thoughts. Plus it gives me more time to work on projects. So that might be a change.


Thanks for reading

Kevin

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The 55 Genres challenge story so far

Hello Today's blog is brought to you by a forgetful writer who was so busy organizing a trip to Vegas and doing some script reading work, that I almost forgot this blog. Hooray! Today's blog is a rund

bottom of page