top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKevin Ryan

The 55 Genres challenge story so far

Hello


Today's blog is brought to you by a forgetful writer who was so busy organizing a trip to Vegas and doing some script reading work, that I almost forgot this blog.


Hooray!


Today's blog is a rundown of my 55 scripts so far. I'll add a logline and a sentence or two on what I make of each script as I move along.


So, any directors, agents, billionaires out there that are reading this, immediately make me an offer on any scripts that interest you.


Let's go!


Disaster Film Cold Snap

  • Two teddy bears find themselves home alone during a terrible cold snap. While the optimist wonders what it all means, the pessimist desperately tries to figure out how to start a fire to stay alive.


I'm not sure could you turn this into a feature but as a short I think it's good. It's tense with the two characters playing out a sort of cabin fever scenario. A little funny and I'm proud of myself for making a ridiculously low (zero?) budget disaster movie.


Heroic Bloodshed Leave

  • A man kidnapped and locked in the trunk, is brought to the woods to be executed. Turning the tables on his would be executioner and locking him inside the trunk, the man realizes the executioner still has the car keys.


This is a short about clones. It's not my best or worst piece of work. I doubt it would be a feature though.


Martial Arts Slow Mo Dojo

  • In a world where everyone moves at half speed, a Dojo master teaches her students to fight against her deadly rival Fastina, who has the power to move twice as fast as anyone.


I think this would be very fun to film. It's a comedy too so that's helpful that it would be fun.


Spy Film Espionages

  • A spy and his man in the van park and get ready to infiltrate a building, only to realise the van they parked in front of belongs to a rival spy and a rival man in the van already on the job.


Another comedy. It's more of a sketch than a short, if that makes sense?


Superhero Film The Super Hero

  • An old hero uses the last of his powers to get revenge on his kidnapped victim who pleads that they are not a supervillain.


I really like this one. I am also working away on this with a director so I will keep quiet about it for now. I've rewritten this one too. So it's slightly changed.


Pirate Film Man of Hunger

  • Two deserters from a pirate ship land on a deserted beach with their stolen treasure. However, with supplies limited, one worries about food while the other worries about more treasure.


This, to me, is like Lost but with pirates and more of a horror feel. Might work as a series too.


Swashbuckler Film Panachio

  • The wooden puppet with a tinfoil sword for a noise, saves a damsel in some distress from being forcibly married to a sock puppet villain.


This is a silly comedy that is more my usual style of it. Again. I think it would be fun to film this short with puppets, sock and wooden, taking part in a marriage ceremony.


CGI Animation HERB

  • A mercenary tries to locate the missing crew of an abandoned spaceship with the help of the crew's helpful onboard supercomputer, HERB.


This is like a reverse of 2001: A Space Odyssey. In that movie, of course you have HAL as a killer computer, so this is like the opposite, with a friendly computer HAL trying to outwit bad people on the spaceship. The CGI animation would be minimal too with HAL's screen providing the CGI?


Stop Motion Animation Miss Hills House Has Googly Eyes

  • A group of household objects, an oven mitt, a spatula and a lamp, try to escape their home before the zombies arrive, but without the extremely annoying sittingroom floor noticing and wanting them to bring her with them.


Another silly comedy that is a little dark. Might be interesting to mix, The Brave Little Toaster with Walking Dead.


Live Action Animation Block Party

  • An evil spirit within a box tries to trick a new tenant into saying it's name, BLOCK, so it can haunt the new tenants house.


Another comedy, I can't say it is anything more than a sketch.


Action Comedy film Robots Fight Over Cake

  • Three cyborgs fight each other, using food to override their systems, as one tries to destroy humankind with an exceptionally delicious and deadly cake.


Another sketch. Actually came about because a writer asked that I center one story around cake, so here is Terminator but it's about cake.


Buddy Comedy Rosa and Anna

  • Two elderly neighbours drive to an old haunted house to give the new owner fair warning, nor realizing the new owner they are blabbering on with is in fact the haunter.


I'm happy with this because I like the focus being on the neighbours to the new owner of the haunted house. The neighbours being two Irish mammies in a way.


Black Comedy Interview With The Brides

  • Two of Dracula's brides give an interview in hopes of finding him and letting him know that they still love him.


One of my favorites so far. It is a little A Fish Called Wanda meets Interview with the Vampire. I plan on turning this into a feature too.


Mockumentary Meet The Mass Murderers

  • Tim Stubbs of the BBC meets mass murdering psychopath and introvert Slicey and his insufferable brother Derek


Louis Theroux type of documentary but of course it's a comedy about him meeting a Leatherface type of character and his family. I like this one. Maybe I could do more with the premise.


Parody Film Date with Death

  • A grandmother tells her grandson about her friendship with the Grim Reaper's wife. Parody of an old comic.


A parody of an old comic. Very spoofy. It has a lot of miscommunication and dialogue focused jokes. My favorite to do.


Romantic Comedy The Butterfly Effect on the Battle Androids

  • Two cyborgs meet in the killer robotics factory moments before being sent back in time on their respective assassination missions and a spark flies.


I went with a terminator type robot again and this time included a love story. I'm not a big lover of rom-coms but this turned out ok. Sweet even.


Slapstick Comedy Rick The Babysitter

  • Rick needs money, so agrees to babysit and take care of two wealthy children who are clearly being controlled by a demon.


This is a slapstick comedy and spoof of my friend's short The Rickety Man . I quite enjoy the premise I took from it in it being Rick is a babysitter to two children who clearly are in the middle of a haunting/demonic possession.


Legal Drama Court of Eden

  • Three angels and three demons deliberate over a man's soul. As the angels try to persuade, the demons work on corrupting the angels to their side.

Another sketch scene. It was tough to consider a legal drama somewhere outside the courtroom and with a different twist to it.


Medical Drama Intrusive

  • In 1913, a writer visits a facility that claims to help those with intrusive thoughts and special abilities.

This is a bit like Magdalene Laundries and The New Mutants (I haven't watched this but I believe premise is similar). I enjoyed using medical drama genre to write about mental health too. Maybe think Shutter Island in the look of it?

Whodunit The Elven Death

  • An elf gathers her family treasure and joins two of her kin in escaping the mysterious Dark Voice that hunts them through the forest.

I don't think you could make more out of this story. It's a mystery set in a very elf from Middle Earth type of world.


Political Drama Ferocia

  • In his final days, Emperor Augustus visits his grandson, who has been banished to a deserted rock in the meditteranean for being too dangerous to allow ever return to civilization.

I'm a lover of Roman history so the first Roman emperor and his grandson, Agrippa Postumus is fascinating to me. His grandson was apparently so evil, the senate had forced the powerful emperor to banish his own grandson from the Italian mainland to a barren rock of land and ordered never to return.


Docudrama Jeronimus Verdict

  • In 1629, Jeronimus Cornelisz answers for his part in orchestrating the savage massacre of survivors of the Batavia shipwreck.

This character is absolute evil. Based on the Batavia shipwreck which I am adamant would make a fantastic miniseries. That true story has murder, revenge, mutiny, shipwreck, horror, war and a race for survival all built into it. This short deals with a gruesome aftermath to it all.


Teen Drama Hit On You

  • A teen hides under his crushes bed while her mother asks for his whereabouts because his father, a master assassin, is looking for him.

I think this could make a good premise for a teen drama. Teenager deals with life while also being in the assassin family business?


Contemporary Fantasy Big Game Hunt

  • A wounded elf and his guide, a wizard, takes shelter in a tent for the night from the wild dragon that slaughtered the rest of the elven big game hunting party.

One of my favorite shorts that I have written. It's set entirely within a tent. Two characters but introduces a world involving dragons, wizards, elves and big game hunting. I'm thinking it could be a feature like The Grey in a fantasy setting. For the record I am against hunting so I can't say most of these characters would be likable. We are probably rooting for the fantasy animals they are hunting.


Dark Fantasy The Witch Hunt

  • A wounded witch hides in a barn with an unconscious young girl as an elf and wizard are on her trail.

Logan but with witches. I wrote it set in a fantasy world, again with wizards and elves. I guess it would be set in a 17th century fantasy world. On second thought maybe it would work better without the elves and wizards. Bring it a little more to a realistic world...eh, with witches. Still, I like the protagonists.


High Epic Fantasy Lost Alliance Of The Stringless Forest

  • After the return of Mal, the skeletal menace to all that is good and puppetry in the fantasy world, the lost alliance returns to save the day.

Team America: World Police in a high fantasy world. I'd love to see it. I think it would be another fun filmmaking experience.


Locked-room mystery The Obvious And Unsolvable Murder By A Spooky Ghost

  • With their life on the line, a skeptical detective is forced to pretend the obvious mass murder of cult members by other members is actually a complicated mysterious case.

I view this as a little like The Wicker Man. I think it could be expanded into the feature. I really like how instead of giving the reader no information and letting the reader follow a character trying to solve a mystery, this gives the reader all the information (practically). It deconstructs the locked room mystery but still forces the hero to play through the tropes in the genre.


Alternate History Dog Killer

  • Man is immune to Covid-19, but man's best friend isn't. A couple lose their pet as life goes on uninterested in the unfortunate animal disease.

What a depressing story to think about. Think of the world's reaction to Covid, think of all the skeptics of it being more than "just a flu", the refusal to follow basic health guidelines, the demand to not have to isolate and disregard for how deadly it is to people. Now imagine how much less people would have cared if it was animals it affected, not people. As a big animal lover, this was a bit of a misery to write and dwell on.


Biopic Written By Wonderful Me

  • My writing life, wonderfully accurate and edited where need be to reflect the wonderful writing life of me.

Moving on from the last story, this is definitely a sketch. A weird, fun short about my own life. I mean, I don't think my life warrants a biopic so it was a bit of a weird story to write but a nice switch back to comedy.


Fairy Tale Gerry's Causeway

  • A Scottish giant loses his cool with the Irish asshole who keeps heckling him on the causeway between both countries.

Read the fairytale about the Giant's Causeway and see that it seems to be about some Irish guy who tried to start a fight and had to get his wife to get his ass out of trouble. A short and nothing more really.


Historical Event Historic

  • An assassin has to postpone his mission to kill the woman who has stolen the evil corporations antidote to the zombie plague, when the first reactions to Harry and Meghan's interview come in.

I think I could rework the premise a bit but I like the general message that, it seems if you look on social media, historic events these days are ridiculous meaningless celebrity news that trends.


Historical Fiction Hex Bomb

  • After a man suffers a heart attack and dies after being the first man to see a lapdance and lingerie, three puritan woman are suspected of being witches when his body is found.

Wrote this days before the Supreme Court judges in the U.S reminded us all that puritan laws are still pined over by a lot of people. I like the setting, set around the Salem Witch Trials, and I love the idea of poking fun at toxic masculinity so this appeals to me a lot.


Gangster The Made Man of the Vampire Clan

  • A vampire asks his human fiancée for help when he needs to give a werewolf cement shoes so it can sleep with the fishes, in order for the vampire to become a made man in the vampire mafia

I struggled with this story until I talked to my fiancée and we had a fun, improv "argument" as two characters in the story about how often a full moon shows, how to know if a lake has fish in it and other aspects of the story. I really love this story now and could make a feature out of it with a bit of planning. It's a wholesome story about a vampire trying to get himself into the vampire mafia.


And that is my list so far. Another 6 months or so left and the list will be complete.


Thanks for reading

Kevin

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Post-Holiday Blog

Hello And we are back from Las Vegas My God it was warm. And yet no sunburn, or tan. All in all it was a nice trip and nice to go on holidays, it's been a while. This is the second time I've been to U

bottom of page